It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 10:44 am


Redhat network cofig

All versions of Linux, Mac OS and Unix

Moderator: PCguy

Redhat network cofig

Postby Axelation » Wed Sep 01, 2004 3:42 pm

I have Installed a new module via an RPM file in RH9. Problem is, when I go to configure it in the net config gui, it isn't listed as a choice when it asks for eth. device. The devce is listed however in the hardware profile. And also found on boot up. How do I correct this, so that I can use the config tool to set up my device.
User avatar
Axelation
Senior Geek
Senior Geek
 
Posts: 133
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2004 1:00 am
Location: Texas

Thanks given:0
Thanks received:0
Top

Postby Gecko » Thu Sep 02, 2004 3:10 am

Without knowing the details of your network card and the rpm you used,
it’s a little hard to guess on how to help you.
Below is a list of commands that you can use to help resolve your problem:

To see which options are available in your version of the RPM, type:
rpm –help (filename)

You can find more details on what those options do in the RPM man page, found by typing:
man rpm (filename)

To displays a list of files marked as documentation like readme etc. type:
rpm -d (filename)

To displays a list of files marked as configuration files.
These are the files you change after installation to adapt the package to your system and hardware, type:
rpm -c (filename)
User avatar
Gecko
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 5207
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2001 1:00 am
Location: Florida, USA

Thanks given:1
Thanks received:23
Top

Postby Restek » Thu Sep 02, 2004 2:22 pm

I'm afraid I'm not familiar with redhat, but in other distributions I would try doing a 'modprobe module_name' and seeing if that works (you may need to specify extra options, such as the IRQ, if it is an ISA device). If that works, there should be a startup script in some subdirectory of /etc/ which sets your modules at startup.

I would also look at the site where you got the rpm from - there may be additional info there :)
User avatar
Restek
Geek Alumni
 
Posts: 1002
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2001 1:00 am
Location: Uk

Thanks given:0
Thanks received:0
Top

Postby Axelation » Thu Sep 02, 2004 3:48 pm

The card is a Blitz 802.11super g
Linux sees it as Generic ath_pci

The RPM is called:

kernel-module-madwifi 0.0.20040307-1_2.4.20_30.9.rh90.dag.i686.rpm

I found it here: http://pbone.net

It allowed my card to be seen in the hardware manager, and I have set up the settings for it in the /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts folder.

So now the card shows to be configured when I run the ifconfig ath0 command.

But , The card will not light up or work.
User avatar
Axelation
Senior Geek
Senior Geek
 
Posts: 133
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2004 1:00 am
Location: Texas

Thanks given:0
Thanks received:0
Top

Postby Restek » Thu Sep 02, 2004 11:30 pm

OK - I assume you're talking about the same problem here:
http://www.mad-beer.com/modules.php?nam ... 5798#15798

In which case I'm going to lock this thread to prevent confusion. If this isn't the case, pm me or post in the other thread & I'll re-open this :)
User avatar
Restek
Geek Alumni
 
Posts: 1002
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2001 1:00 am
Location: Uk

Thanks given:0
Thanks received:0
Top


Return to Linux, Mac and Unix

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron