It is currently Sat Jun 24, 2017 8:03 pm


Urban Chaos... the good one

PC games, console games, reviews and comments

Moderator: venney

Urban Chaos... the good one

Postby Psymon » Mon Aug 18, 2008 6:20 pm

bad times :(

I got Urban Chaos out of the loft for some reason but when I come to play it the frame rate eventually drops to about 2 and stays there.

I've tried everything I can think off. different settings (you can change resolution, 16 or 24 bit colour, software or '3D device', level of detail in game) have next to no effect. everything to low makes things better but we're only talking 4fps instead of 2.
Making it run on only 1 core, nothing. chaning back to 1 monitor, nothing. disabling all other apps, nothing. run in win95 mode, instant crash.

ARGH!

Any other ideas?

Eidos seem to have disowned it and muckyfoot closed down years ago.
User avatar
Psymon
Senior Geek
Senior Geek
 
Posts: 353
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2005 1:00 am

Thanks given:0
Thanks received:0
Top

Re: Urban Chaos... the good one

Postby venney » Tue Aug 19, 2008 9:00 am

Maybe it didn’t install properly? I love that game man! You could try using my disc instead? Failing that, try a no cd, they sometimes make things run well.

Or is it already running on a crack? (i know we both own the game, so nothing illegal)

"Float like a butterfly.
Sting like a bee.
Your hands can't hit
what your eyes can't see."
Muhammad Ali
User avatar
venney
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 1757
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 1:00 am
Location: Southampton - England
Operating System: Mac OS X

Thanks given:0
Thanks received:0
Top

Re: Urban Chaos... the good one

Postby Psymon » Tue Aug 19, 2008 6:16 pm

thats the thing. its been installed since I got my pc (3.5 years) and I don't think I've ever played it. I only installed it for the sound effects at the time but I remembered it after trying to educate some noob who knows nothing about games but thinks he's L337 because he's got GRID. I'm not sure if I ever tried to play it since I installed it. I may try to re install it and see if that makes a difference. I was using the official CD too since I've been unable to find any No-CD fixes.

I'll get back once I've treid reinstalling. hope it doesn't screw up all my sound settings :(
User avatar
Psymon
Senior Geek
Senior Geek
 
Posts: 353
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2005 1:00 am

Thanks given:0
Thanks received:0
Top

Re: Urban Chaos... the good one

Postby liljim » Tue Aug 19, 2008 9:09 pm

You might also try different video drivers.

heres a link for you too.
User avatar
liljim
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 3017
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2003 1:00 am
Location: Louisiana
Operating System: Win 7 Home Premium X64

Thanks given:0
Thanks received:12
Top

Re: Urban Chaos... the good one

Postby Psymon » Tue Aug 19, 2008 9:25 pm

got latest drivers for GPU (this game is 9 year old game)

I already found that no CD thing. the readme isn't very good english but it says to also find a backup CD thing to make it work and that's just not worth it since I've got the real CD.
User avatar
Psymon
Senior Geek
Senior Geek
 
Posts: 353
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2005 1:00 am

Thanks given:0
Thanks received:0
Top

Re: Urban Chaos... the good one

Postby venney » Wed Aug 20, 2008 7:18 pm

the sound effects are pretty good in that game!

"Float like a butterfly.
Sting like a bee.
Your hands can't hit
what your eyes can't see."
Muhammad Ali
User avatar
venney
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 1757
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 1:00 am
Location: Southampton - England
Operating System: Mac OS X

Thanks given:0
Thanks received:0
Top

Re: Urban Chaos... the good one

Postby Psymon » Tue Oct 14, 2008 4:33 pm

I've found a work around, I can now play it smoothly :mrgreen: However, I have to play without puddles or with wheels on vehicles :(

There was a config file, one of the parameters was "fix_directx=0" So I changed it to 1 and things were fixed. However, got to a level that was raining and it was still bad. Turn off puddles, problem solved again. unfortunately turning off puddles took the tyres with it :S

I think if I wanted to fix this, I'd need a new GPU. no joke. in the game 'beyond good and evil' I have to have water effects set to lowest, as explained here. ok the website is really old but im still getting that problem. must be the same thing with urban chaos puddles.

I'm just glad I can play it again :)
User avatar
Psymon
Senior Geek
Senior Geek
 
Posts: 353
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2005 1:00 am

Thanks given:0
Thanks received:0
Top


Return to Gamers Lounge

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron