It is currently Mon Feb 27, 2017 7:04 pm


FALLOUT 3

PC games, console games, reviews and comments

Moderator: venney

FALLOUT 3

Postby liljim » Sun Nov 02, 2008 2:51 pm

If your not playing it yet, you should be ashamed to call yourself a gamer! This game is great all the way around. Bethesda softworks has out done themselves here, graphics plus gameplay plus interaction is simply unmatched so far. The developers have earned everything they ask on this one. The quality has surpassed Oblivion by a long shot and you dont have to have a mini nuclear power plant to run it.

Requirements are modest considering...
XP/Vista
2.4 GHz CPU
1 Gig ram
6 Gigs hdd space
nvidia 6800 or ati x850

Of course im well above those so i cant say how well it actually runs on those specs but thats not asking for alot with minimum requirements.

Im running
XP
3.3 dual core
4 gigs ram
8800 gt
All settings cranked up and its smooth as silk.

If you dont have it, go get it! You'll be impressed from the character setup alone!
User avatar
liljim
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 3017
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2003 1:00 am
Location: Louisiana
Operating System: Win 7 Home Premium X64

Thanks given:0
Thanks received:12
Top

Re: FALLOUT 3

Postby liljim » Sat Nov 08, 2008 2:56 pm

heres a few screenshots
Attachments
ScreenShot8.jpg
ScreenShot8.jpg (89.79 KiB) Viewed 6174 times
ScreenShot7.jpg
ScreenShot7.jpg (61.3 KiB) Viewed 6175 times
ScreenShot2.jpg
ScreenShot2.jpg (61.76 KiB) Viewed 6174 times
User avatar
liljim
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 3017
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2003 1:00 am
Location: Louisiana
Operating System: Win 7 Home Premium X64

Thanks given:0
Thanks received:12
Top

Re: FALLOUT 3

Postby venney » Sat Nov 08, 2008 6:27 pm

im in the process of getting it :D

"Float like a butterfly.
Sting like a bee.
Your hands can't hit
what your eyes can't see."
Muhammad Ali
User avatar
venney
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 1757
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 1:00 am
Location: Southampton - England
Operating System: Mac OS X

Thanks given:0
Thanks received:0
Top

Re: FALLOUT 3

Postby venney » Wed Nov 26, 2008 10:50 pm

ok ive got my copy of it, but im in the middle of an essay so i cant really start. im going to pop out and buy cod5 on my ps3 tomorrow as well after ive handed my work in.

Essay Title

Must we keep to the rules we have agreed, or can we modify according to the situation?


Jim do you fancy a trade? let me play fallout 3, and you can finish my work for me :lol:

ill post again in a couple days when ive had a proper go. ive only got an x1950 in here i think so i hope that can cope.

I booted it up and it looks good. and yes, the selection process at the beginning is clever. i had to save it at the birthday party. should be interesting with my 5.1 and nice wide screen :D

Is there a way to tell if the game is running via 5.1?

"Float like a butterfly.
Sting like a bee.
Your hands can't hit
what your eyes can't see."
Muhammad Ali
User avatar
venney
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 1757
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 1:00 am
Location: Southampton - England
Operating System: Mac OS X

Thanks given:0
Thanks received:0
Top

Re: FALLOUT 3

Postby Psymon » Thu Nov 27, 2008 12:08 am

I had a go at it at a LAN. By the time I had stepped out of the vault it felt like oblivion through and through. I didn't enjoy oblivion, and since my brother managed to get 6 months worth out of it I decided it better I get out before I got addicted, so I've done the same to fallout 3.

I might reconsider it once I'm done with all the games I've been looking forward to.
User avatar
Psymon
Senior Geek
Senior Geek
 
Posts: 353
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2005 1:00 am

Thanks given:0
Thanks received:0
Top

Re: FALLOUT 3

Postby venney » Thu Nov 27, 2008 12:40 am

i quite enjoyed oblivion until i got stuck (i think i couldnt kill a vampire or something) i dont remeber it much but i know i spent hours on it!

ive also borrowed star wars the force unleashed from my housemate (2 of us have ps3's) so thats another game i want to bash on with!

"Float like a butterfly.
Sting like a bee.
Your hands can't hit
what your eyes can't see."
Muhammad Ali
User avatar
venney
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 1757
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 1:00 am
Location: Southampton - England
Operating System: Mac OS X

Thanks given:0
Thanks received:0
Top

Re: FALLOUT 3

Postby liljim » Thu Nov 27, 2008 4:49 pm

Jim do you fancy a trade? let me play fallout 3, and you can finish my work for me :lol:

Wish i could ven, interesting topic.


By the time I had stepped out of the vault it felt like oblivion through and through

true enough, it has an oblivion feel to it as it is built by the same guys on pretty much the same engine. Theres a much higher level interaction with a bigger enviroment to play around with. Lots more interesting weapons and armor with the ability to build a few as well. It is extremely addictive, without a doubt. I finished it with a "good" character and now im going back with an evil one. Its quite difficult for me to make some of the evil choices in dialogue but fun also.


Ven, i have force unleashed on Wii. Its been pretty fun too! My biggest downfall is still internet. Mine isnt good enough to play online and im still without any decent options here. Im 5 miles from a wifi signal and its killing me to know that. One of these days man i'll have a decent connection out here.
User avatar
liljim
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 3017
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2003 1:00 am
Location: Louisiana
Operating System: Win 7 Home Premium X64

Thanks given:0
Thanks received:12
Top

Re: FALLOUT 3

Postby venney » Thu Nov 27, 2008 5:35 pm

it will only be a matter of time (i hope jim!). once you have it we will have to have a good online game session.

And good news, i finished my essay within lots of time, just over 3000 but you are allowed 10% either way, so I’m fine. I’ve done the first level of force unleashed, but I’m going to take a break for a bit i think. i like it though.

and like i said, i will comment more on fallout when I’ve played it more, but i can defiantly tell about the level of detail, there has been loads of speaking already. should be a fun game, my graphics card fan goes psycho when its running lol

is the sw game on the wii the same game? Because it would be well fun on the wii I imagine!

"Float like a butterfly.
Sting like a bee.
Your hands can't hit
what your eyes can't see."
Muhammad Ali
User avatar
venney
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 1757
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 1:00 am
Location: Southampton - England
Operating System: Mac OS X

Thanks given:0
Thanks received:0
Top

Re: FALLOUT 3

Postby liljim » Fri Nov 28, 2008 3:59 am

is the sw game on the wii the same game? Because it would be well fun on the wii I imagine!

I dont know if its setup the same but it is certainly fun with the Wii controls. I doubt the graphics are as smooth on the Wii as the PS3 but the interaction is great. The same is true for all the Wii titles, it simply doesnt have the gpu power that the competition has but its much more fun to play.
User avatar
liljim
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 3017
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2003 1:00 am
Location: Louisiana
Operating System: Win 7 Home Premium X64

Thanks given:0
Thanks received:12
Top

Re: FALLOUT 3

Postby robbro » Sat Dec 13, 2008 6:44 pm

woo i have this game. what FPS u getting lil jim so we can compare??
SIC INIT
User avatar
robbro
Executive Geek
Executive Geek
 
Posts: 751
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2004 1:00 am
Location: UK , London

Thanks given:0
Thanks received:0
Top

Re: FALLOUT 3

Postby liljim » Sat Dec 13, 2008 7:21 pm

im maxing out at 60, i think theres a frame rate cap there too. Gonna look into that now.
User avatar
liljim
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 3017
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2003 1:00 am
Location: Louisiana
Operating System: Win 7 Home Premium X64

Thanks given:0
Thanks received:12
Top

Re: FALLOUT 3

Postby liljim » Sat Dec 13, 2008 7:38 pm

yea theres a cap but i have it off now

heres what i got from using fraps

Min-12
Max-107
Avg-87.557
User avatar
liljim
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 3017
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2003 1:00 am
Location: Louisiana
Operating System: Win 7 Home Premium X64

Thanks given:0
Thanks received:12
Top

Re: FALLOUT 3

Postby robbro » Sat Dec 13, 2008 7:40 pm

damn i just tested i get like 60-70 at the start of the game :lol: ... something wrong here :|
SIC INIT
User avatar
robbro
Executive Geek
Executive Geek
 
Posts: 751
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2004 1:00 am
Location: UK , London

Thanks given:0
Thanks received:0
Top

Re: FALLOUT 3

Postby liljim » Sat Dec 13, 2008 7:43 pm

thats what i got benchmarking just outside of megaton
User avatar
liljim
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 3017
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2003 1:00 am
Location: Louisiana
Operating System: Win 7 Home Premium X64

Thanks given:0
Thanks received:12
Top

Re: FALLOUT 3

Postby liljim » Sat Dec 13, 2008 7:45 pm

walk around outside of megaton, (i killed a caravan while there) press f11 and fraps will record a benchmark. You can go to C:Fraps and pull it up after.
User avatar
liljim
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 3017
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2003 1:00 am
Location: Louisiana
Operating System: Win 7 Home Premium X64

Thanks given:0
Thanks received:12
Top

Next

Return to Gamers Lounge

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron