It is currently Fri Sep 22, 2017 11:02 am


graphical errors?

PC games, console games, reviews and comments

Moderator: venney

graphical errors?

Postby Jokebook » Wed Feb 25, 2009 4:00 am

e6600
9800 GTX 512
3gigs corsair dominator
evga 590sli
dell 2407wfp

When playing TF2 the game looks great, however, When I look around it appears that some of the graphics "flicker" not to a point where it is distorted have you. Basically on the walls and such it just appears that they well kind of flicker a little bit, I want to say tear kind of but it is not that serious. My frame rate is still extremely solid.

I had the same problem with an 8800 GTX that I just replaced, now though, sometimes all games freeze up. When doing this sometimes the game locks and makes the same sound that was currently going over and over again which makes me have to reset the comp.

I'm running "recommended settings" as far as the AA model detail and such are concered...also I'm running @ 1920 by 1080 widescreen

Thanks for any help!
User avatar
Jokebook
Geek
Geek
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2003 1:00 am
Location: Hermosa Beach

Thanks given:0
Thanks received:0
Top

Re: graphical errors?

Postby liljim » Wed Feb 25, 2009 4:59 am

TF2= team fortress 2 i assume? if so, thats actually a game i dont play. The flickering can be a couple things, in the video options, look to see if theres a vsync option and enable it if its there. Another thing is using a dvi-vga adapter, hdmi or dvi all the way would be preferred over using an adapter anywhere. Lastly, try to find some other players and see if its the same thing on their rig. What im getting at there is it may be a glitch on valve's end that needs a patch/update.

Concerning freezing up,have you checked your video temps? The stock coolers on the 8800 and 9800 are less than desirable, i had to replace mine with the first week. How long does it take to lock up and loop the audio?

If you dont already have it, download the latest nvidia drivers and download nvidia ntune. ntune can give the gpu temps and if set right, it can log your temps in intervals to see where its at when you crash.
User avatar
liljim
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 3017
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2003 1:00 am
Location: Louisiana
Operating System: Win 7 Home Premium X64

Thanks given:0
Thanks received:12
Top

Re: graphical errors?

Postby Psymon » Wed Feb 25, 2009 5:15 pm

If you're certain it's not 'tearing' which as liljim said can be fixed by applying V-sync, then based on your description it could be a graphical glitch, usually the result of the GPU overheating.

Are your CPU or GPU overclocked?

Have you tried posting in the steam forums? You're likely to find much better help there since this is team fortress 2.
User avatar
Psymon
Senior Geek
Senior Geek
 
Posts: 353
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2005 1:00 am

Thanks given:0
Thanks received:0
Top

Re: graphical errors?

Postby Jokebook » Wed Feb 25, 2009 7:57 pm

thanks for both of your quick responses. I am going to try the vsync thing.

As farm as my cpu or gpu, no, neither are overclocked. Going to try some of the suggestions and I'll post back.

Thanks!
User avatar
Jokebook
Geek
Geek
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2003 1:00 am
Location: Hermosa Beach

Thanks given:0
Thanks received:0
Top

Re: graphical errors?

Postby Jokebook » Tue Mar 03, 2009 3:03 am

Figured I'd post back. After putting back in the 8800 GTX card I have less problems, and no crash problems. My guess, (and I've seen others with similar experiences) is there simply is not enough memory on the 9800 GTX 512. It's a pretty good card, but it simply does not have enough umph on the memory side.

Advice: if you are getting a 9800GTX make sure and get the 1GB version :D
User avatar
Jokebook
Geek
Geek
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2003 1:00 am
Location: Hermosa Beach

Thanks given:0
Thanks received:0
Top

Re: graphical errors?

Postby Psymon » Wed Mar 04, 2009 3:43 pm

Note: the 9800 GTX will soon be renamed to the GTX 250

Just in case anyone wasn't aware :)
User avatar
Psymon
Senior Geek
Senior Geek
 
Posts: 353
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2005 1:00 am

Thanks given:0
Thanks received:0
Top

Re: graphical errors?

Postby cristiano » Sat May 16, 2009 10:31 am

Well,I do not have graphical errors.
______________________
cristiano
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat May 16, 2009 10:28 am

Thanks given:0
Thanks received:0
Top

Re: graphical errors?

Postby VaporNation » Mon Aug 13, 2012 8:22 pm

could it be the OS?
Vapor Nation
VaporNation
Geek in Training
Geek in Training
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2012 10:04 pm

Thanks given:0
Thanks received:0
Top


Return to Gamers Lounge

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron