I've not used AOL so I'm guessing here, but if AOL installs with realplayer then there may be a setting somewhere in AOL to tell it not to check for realplayer. This should get rid of the popup.
Why are you so against havin it installed?
If you installed AOL in the same place as before, then you've probably just got 2 shortcuts rather than 2 actual installs - you can probably just delete one of them
