Page 1 of 1

Hide spelling errors

PostPosted: Mon Jun 20, 2005 2:26 pm
by patkim
I find that the option to hide spelling errors in the MS Word document is not permanent.
Even if I hide all spelling errors in a document, when I reopen the same, it continues to show the red underlines. Is this behavior correct?
I though it to be a document level change.

PostPosted: Tue Jun 21, 2005 6:03 am
by icecube
Are you on a network? I notice at work, when I log on to our domain, I cannot access the normal.dot file which controls the Word settings. The system administrator has locked down a lot of features to keep users in line. Group policy might keep you from making your changes permanent.

If that isn't the case, you could try deleting the normal.dot file, it will reset everything to the defaul values and you can try again.

Also the normal.dot file is one that can be infected by a virus. Make sure you have your virus files updated and current.

PostPosted: Wed Jun 22, 2005 6:30 pm
by patkim

PostPosted: Fri Jun 24, 2005 5:51 am
by icecube

PostPosted: Fri Jun 24, 2005 7:27 pm
by patkim
I have following discovery..
Most of the data servers in office are Solaris servers and by some technique they can be mapped as network drives in Windows Explorer.

The MS Word setting of Hide spelling errors is lost when the document is saved on such network drives (Solaris) but is retained when saved on local Windows drive!

Admin gave me some justification but was not bale to get it properly!!

PostPosted: Sat Jun 25, 2005 7:44 am
by icecube
Here is the way I look at it.

If you are on a computer and do a search for normal.dot and find it. your probably not on a network.

Now, if you log on to the network with the same machine (aquire a domain) and search for normal.dot it will not be found. Its there, you just do not have access to it. You can go into word and fiddle around with all of the settings, and the minute you close out, and reopen, none of your settings will be saved--you do not have access to the Word templet i.e. normal.dot. The reason for this is twofold. It keeps the Help Desk happy and it keeps you from running infected macros.

If you copy that file from work and display it on your machine at home, it will show up just the way you set it up with your normal.dot file. Save it and take it back to work and look at it and you are back to square one. This prevents employees from bringing to work an infected file and having it mess up the network. They can use the file but they cannot infect the network.

If anyone sees something that I have left out, please jump in-- people google these problems and I want to make sure that the solution is not confusing